Eatin’ Ethiopian

7 Oct

My friend Helene and I have a Thursday tradition that I knew may upset my official day one of blogging. We go to hot yoga at 6:15 and then have a late night dinner out.  Knowing this – I stuck to my plan the best that I could considering I was going out for a delicious dinner.

Breakfast was 1/2 c of instant oatmeal, 1/4 c pure pumpkin, 1/2 banana, 1/6 cup of granola. And coffee + silk french vanilla creamer.

Lunch was a serving of the batch of Fat Free Vegan’s Ridiculously Easy Lentil Soup – it’s been my backup soup for a year and I just love it. I had it with some Stacy’s pita chips (my addiction).

And followed it up with some mini semi-sweet chocolate covered pretzels. Believe it or not these are vegan – but not made of the best ingredients.

Snack was a Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Lara Bar – I meant to eat only half but somehow “half” got lost in translation and I was 2/3 of the way through. It’s small enough that I just decided to finish it off!

Yoga was pretty intense – it wasn’t as insane as our regular teacher, but I definitely sweat through my clothes and couldn’t finish out the last few chaturangas. Attempted an assisted forearm stand – which always makes me happy, I love going upside down.

Dinner was at a fantastic Ethiopian restaurant we’ve been to once before and haven’t stopped raving about.  We split the vegetarian combo platter – which is definitely the perfect size for two people.  I ate way too much but amazingly don’t feel disgusting. If you haven’t had Ethiopian food – do yourself a favor, go out on a limb, and give it a try.

Now off to plan tomorrows meals and working out!  I visit a podiatrist for custom insoles for daily wearing on Monday and a physical therapist on Wednesday for my knee.  I’m hoping it’s all good vibes soon for my knee – and poundage progress!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

